Guangji Temple, one of the Inner Eight Temples in Beijing, which is now also the headquarters of the Buddhist Association of China. Covering an area of 2.3 hectares, Guangji Temple was founded during the the end of Song Dynasty and originally known as Xiliulin Temple. It was rebuilt in the first year of Emperor Tianshun of Ming Dynasty and named “Hongci Guangji Temple” by Emperor Xianzong in the 2nd year of Chenghua. In 1931, it was destroyed by fire and rebuilt in 1935.
The buildings in the temple represent the Ming style, divided into three routes. The middle route includes Mountain Gate, Drum and Bell Pavilion, Heavenly King Hall, Mahavira Hall, Yuantong Hall, the western route includes Chifanlv Hall, jietai, Jingye Hall and Yunshui Hall, the eastern route includes implement library, Yanshou Hall etc. The sutras and other treasures are kept in the fourth hall, the aptly named Sutra Hall, located in the fourth courtyard. There is even an entire sutra from the Song era written in blood, which was given to the temple as a gift. Now, Guangji Temple is the site of the Chinese Buddhist Association.
Ticket: Free
Opening Hours: 7:00-16:30
Location: No. 25 Fuchengmennei Dajie, Xicheng Distirct